Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni News > Halford Hewitt 2020 for OL Golf Society

Halford Hewitt 2020 for OL Golf Society

Despite the disappointment of this year's cancellation and a 1st round draw with Framlingham, read on for an insight into our involvement as one of just 64 schools in this prestigious annual event.
31 Mar 2020
Alumni News
'HH team and supporters, 2015, outside Royal St George's clubhouse'
'HH team and supporters, 2015, outside Royal St George's clubhouse'
The OL Golf Society, represented as Liverpool in each year's draw, was first invited to participate in the Old Boys' scratch foursomes Golf Tournament for 5 pairs in 1937, the competition having begun with just ten schools in 1924.

The team of I.S.Thomas and Wynter; R.M. Evans and W.S.Hayes; E.H.Langdon and R.J.Thompson; E.S.Behn and G.S.Robertson, plus K.Cranston (later to play cricket for Lancashire and England) and D.M.Robinson covered themselves in glory by reaching that year's final. On the way they defeated Uppingham, Westminster, The Leys, and Shrewsbury before losing to Charterhouse. 1938's team reached the third round and in 1939 the semi-final was again achieved.

Liverpool took up its place once more after the Second World War in 1949, reaching that year's third round, and has participated ever since. Arguably, the golden decade was the 1990s which saw the society reach two quarter-finals and two semi-finals. With a recent victory in the over-50s Cyril Gray Tournament competed for by 3 pairs against 32 of the Halford Hewitt schools, the society's fortunes are clearly still in rude health and all look forward to a resumption of these golfing activities next year.



Similar stories

LC 1st XI v OLs, 2011

There has been a greater historical involvement by Lerpoolians with the 'beautiful game' than readers might appreciate. More...

CG Winners 2019

Belated congratulations to the 2019 'Liverpool team' who should have begun the defence of their trophy on Thursday 25th … More...

Rt Hon Jake Berry MP

Lerpoolian MP leaves the government after three years as Minister for the Northern Powerhouse. More...

NHS heroes

Consultant physician, Will McConnell (1972-1984), provides a fascinating insight into the issues which are affecting us … More...

Most read

Jersey 2023

John Jones, Selwyns 1964 takes us back in time, sharing some fascinating photos taken during his time at Liverpool College More...

His Honour Captain Peter Crabtree (Brook's, 1974) Royal Navy (retd) BA(Hons), LLM, OBEĀ  recalls: More...

Principal, Hans van Mourik Broekman has notified us of his decision to leave Liverpool College on the 31st August 2024. More...

Have your say




Queens Drive,
Mossley Hill,
Liverpool, L18 8BG

Follow us

This website is powered by